Thompson Prize for Young Investigators

The Prize and its Purpose

The John D. Thompson Prize for Young Investigators was established to honor John D. Thompson, a professor of health administration education, who set teaching, commitment to learning, collegial relationships, and health services research standards which are without peer.

The Prize recognizes young faculty based on their contributions to the research literature in the field of health services.  The Prize is awarded to a faculty member from an AUPHA Full Member Program whose work may be in any of the several fields or disciplines contributing to knowledge in health services.

Nomination Process

Anyone from an AUPHA member program may nominate a candidate for the Prize. Nominations must include the nominee’s current curriculum vitae, a single letter of not more than five pages outlining the nominee’s contributions to research literature in the field of health services, and complete copies of up to five publications (that have appeared in print) of which the nominee is the sole or lead author or a primary contributor. These must have appeared in print before December 31, 2014. Additional supporting letters should not be submitted.

Individuals may be re-nominated from year to year as long as they continue to meet the criteria for the Prize.

The nominations deadline for the 2015 Prize is April 1, 2015.  Nominations should be submitted to:

John D. Thompson Prize Committee Chair
c/o Gerald Glandon

Criteria & Selection Process

Nominations are judged by a panel of recognized health services researchers and health administration faculty appointed by the Board of AUPHA. The awardee shall be a faculty member at a Full Member Program of AUPHA, have been awarded a PhD no more than six years* prior to consideration (2009), and have not achieved tenure as of the date of selection. The Prize is intended to serve as a benchmark for pre-tenure work.

Emphasis is placed on:

Importance of Works—Overall significance of the investigator’s research and the impact it is likely to have on the field of health services.

Theoretical Grounding
—The writing and research must exhibit a strong conceptual base in the parent discipline.

—The number of publications published in refereed journals, book chapters and books.

Intellectual Leadership
—Professional recognition, serving as principal investigator on major grants and contracts, organizing research meetings
and/or generating substantial books or monographs in the field of health services.

Quality/Visibility of Journals
—Leading health services research journals receive greater weight.

Contribution to Education in Health Management & Policy
—Beyond the nominee’s research, in what ways has he/she contributed to the field of health management and policy education--through teaching, commitment to learning, collegial relationships and beyond?

Selection of the Prize winner will takes place each spring. The Prize is awarded at the AUPHA Annual Meeting.

Prize Winners

2014 Holly Jarman, PhD
University of Michigan
2013 Diana Bowman, LLB, PhD
University of Michigan
2012 George Wehby, PhD, MPH
University of Iowa
2011 Hector Rodriguez, PhD, MPH
University of California, Los
2010 Daniel Eisenberg, PhD
University of Michigan &
Jonathan Ketcham, PhD
Arizona State University
2008 Michael Davern, PhD
University of Minnesota &
Rachel Werner, MD, PhD
University of Pennsylvania
2007 Kosali Ilayperuma
Simon, PhD

Cornell University
2006 Kevin Volpp, MD, PhD
University of Pennsylvania &
Rebecca Wells, PhD
University of North Carolina at
Chapel Hill
2005 John Cawley, PhD
Cornell University
2004 David C. Grabowski, PhD
University of Alabama at
2003 Elizabeth Bradley, PhD
Yale University
2002 Shoou-Yih Daniel Lee, PhD
University of North Carolina at
Chapel Hill &
Dennis Scanlon, PhD
Pennsylvania State University
2001 William Dow, PhD
University of North Carolina at
Chapel Hill
2000 Brian Weiner, PhD
University of North Carolina at
Chapel Hill
1999 Richard A. Hirth, PhD
University of Michigan
1998 Michael Chernew, PhD
University of Michigan &
Gary J. Young, JD, PhD
Boston University
1996 Jacqueline S. Zinn, PhD
Temple University
1995 Peter C. Coyte, PhD
University of Toronto
1993 David Dranove, PhD
Northwestern University
1992 Thomas H. Rice, PhD
University of California–
Los Angeles
1991 Michael A. Morrisey, PhD
University of Alabama at

2014-2015 Selection Committee

Sherril Gelmon, DrPH
Portland State University

Kyle Grazier, DrPH
University of Michigan

Holly Jarman, PhD
University of Michigan

Jonathan Ketchum, PhD
Arizona State University

Hector Rodriguez, PhD
University of California-Los Angeles

Jay Shen, PhD
University of Nevada-Las Vegas

Carolyn Watts, PhD
Virginia Commonwealth University

Gerald Glandon, PhD