William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Research

The Prize and its Purpose

The William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Research was established in 2006 to honor the late William B. Graham, long-time CEO of Baxter International. The Prize is the highest distinction that researchers in the health services field can achieve, and succeeds the Baxter International Foundation Prize for Health Services Research.

The Prize was established to recognize worldwide contributions to the improved health of the public through health services research, particularly research that has a lasting impact on the healthcare system and the way healthcare is delivered. Nominations are actively sought from all parts of the world.

The Health Services Research Prize acknowledges the national or international contributions of health services researchers who apply analytic methods to examine and evaluate the organization, financing, and/or delivery of health services. A single, major research contribution or a careerlong record of achievement may be recognized. The focus of the Prize is on the recognition of a person who has had a significant impact on the health of the public in one of three primary focus areas: Health Services Management, Health Policy Development, and Healthcare Delivery. The Prize has helped these researchers continue their contributions to the field while recognizing their past contributions.

The Prize consists of an individual award of $25,000. In addition, $25,000 will be awarded to a non-profit institution designated by the recipient to support his or her work. It is awarded at the Association of University Programs in Health Administration Annual Meeting.

Nomination Process

The Health Services Research Prize is awarded to an individual working in any relevant discipline,anywhere in the world. Nominations are actively solicited to ensure that Prize recipients represent leaders in and major contributions to the field of health services research nationally and internationally. The Prize is intended to recognize either a single major contribution or lifelong achievement.

Nominations must provide complete documentation including a letter of nomination which addresses the nominee’s contributions to the health of the public in one or more of three primary areas: Health Services Management, Health Policy Development, and Healthcare Delivery. The letter should be organized by the following categories: Scholarly Reputation, Sustained Productivity in Research, and Impact on Healthcare Policy and Practice.

The nomination should include a current curriculum vitae for the nominee and additional letters of support if desired. The nomination and CV must be in English. Supporting materials may be in other languages. Self-nominations will not be accepted. Nominations will remain on file for consideration in subsequent
years if not selected.

The deadline for receipt of nominations for the 2021 Prize will be announced in the fall of 2020.

Nominations should be sent to
The William B. Graham Prize
Selection Committee,
AUPHA, 1730 M Street, NW,
Suite 407, Washington, DC,20036.
Attention:  Jaime Stephens
Please direct all inquiries to (202) 763-7561 or jstephens@aupha.org


Prize Winners

William B Graham Prize Winners

William C. Hsiao, PhD
Professor of Economics Harvard School of Public Health

Peter J. Pronovost, M.D., Ph.D.
University Hospitals
Press Release

Elizabeth H. Bradley, PhD
Vassar College

David Blumenthal, MD
The Commonwealth Fund

John K. Iglehart
Health Affairs

Anthony J. Culyer, CBE, BA, Hon DEcon, Hon FRCP, FRSA, FMedSci
University of York

Alan Maynard, OBE, BPhil, Hon DSc, Hon LLD, Hon MFPHM, MMEDSci
University of York

Stuart H. Altman, PhD
Brandeis University

Dorothy P. Rice, ScD
University of California, San Francisco

Mark V. Pauly, PhD
University of Pennsylvania

Edward H. Wagner, MD
Group Health Research Institute

Uwe E. Reinhardt, PhD
Princeton University

Carolyn M. Clancy, MD
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Sir Michael G. Marmot, MBBS, MPH, PhD
University College London

Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP
Institute for Healthcare Improvement

Linda H. Aiken, PhD, FAAN, FRCN, RN
University of Pennsylvania

Baxter Prize Winners

David L. Sackett, OC, MD, FRSC, FRCP
Trout Research Institute

Barbara Starfield, MD, MPH
Johns Hopkins University

Robert J. Blendon, ScD
Harvard University

John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA

Robert G. Evans, PhD
University of British Columbia

Karen Davis, PhD
The Commonwealth Fund

Ronald Andersen, PhD
University of California, Los Angeles

Odin Anderson, PhD
University of Wisconsin, Madison

Harold S. Luft, PhD
University of California, San Francisco

David Mechanic, PhD
Rutgers University

Kerr L. White, MD
University of Virginia

Stephen M. Shortell, PhD
University of California, Berkeley

Alain C. Enthoven, PhD
Stanford University​

Selection Committee

Nir Menachemi, PhD (Chair)
Professor and Department Chair, Health Policy and
Indiana University

Stuart Altman, PhD
Sol C. Chaikin Professor of National Health Policy
Brandeis University

David Blumenthal, MD
The Commonwealth Fund

Elizabeth H. Bradley, PhD
Vassar College

Thomas D'Aunno
Columbia University

Richard Hirth, PhD
University of Michigan

Keith J. Mueller, PhD
University of Iowa

Mark Pauly, PhD
Bendheim Professor, The Wharton School
University of Pennsylvania

Peter Pronovost, PhD, MD
University Hospitals - Cleveland

Mark S. Roberts, MD, MPP
University of Pittsburgh

Julie Sakowski, PhD, Chair-Elect
Seton Hall University

Joris van de Klundert
Erasmus University Rotterdam

Thomas Wickizer, PhD
The Ohio State University