Teaching Excellence Awards

The Prizes and Their Purpose

AUPHA’s Teaching Excellence Awards seek to recognize faculty from AUPHA member programs who have demonstrated exceptional accomplishments at the undergraduate, masters, or doctoral level. Established in 2021, the Awards annually honor faculty who frequently engage in the AUPHA Network and demonstrate teaching excellence within various disciplines that inspire and advance other faculty within AUPHA and beyond. The Teaching Excellence Awards focus on the following areas:

  • Teaching Excellence Award in Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, Belonging, and Social Justice
  • Teaching Excellence Award for Healthcare Management and Leadership
  • Teaching Excellence Award for Health Policy
  • Teaching Excellence Award for Practice Management and Ambulatory Care


  1. Nominee must have a formal faculty appointment in an AUPHA Full or Associate Member Program and must be responsible as the instructor-of-record for at least one course in the area for which they are being nominated.
  2. Nominee must have five or more years of teaching experience in health administration and policy. No more than one year of teaching as a graduate student (identified as the instructor of record) may be used to count towards the five needed.
  3. The nominee must be teaching in the academic year in which they are nominated.
  4. Past awardees may not be nominated again in the area for which they have already been recognized.
  5. Nominees must be active on the AUPHA Network. This may be demonstrated through membership in the relevant academic Faculty Forum or discussion group listed below; nominations for faculty who are not a part of the relevant forum or group should include an explanation of the nominee’s engagement on the AUPHA Network in the past year.
    1. Cultural Perspectives and Inclusive Excellence
    2. Health Policy
    3. Management and Leadership
    4. Medical Group Practice/Ambulatory Care Discussion Group

        Prize Winners

        The 2024 Teaching Excellence Award recipients are as follows:

        Teaching Excellence Award for Health Policy

        Sponsored by the American Hospital Association (AHA)

        - Jean Abraham, PhD, University of Minnesota

        Teaching Excellence Award for Healthcare Management and Leadership
        Sponsored by the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE)

        - Christopher Louis, PhD, MHA, Boston University

        Teaching Excellence Award for Ambulatory Care and Practice Management
        Sponsored by the Medical Group Management Association (MGMA)

        - Mark Bittle, DrPH, MBA, FACHE, Johns Hopkins University