William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Research

The Prize and Its Purpose

The Baxter International William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Research recognizes an individual who has significantly increased the quality of or access to health service delivery worldwide through the development of insights and innovations that have (a) eliminated barriers to the education and prevention of noncommunicable diseases; (b) highlighted the importance of proper nutrition in underserved communities; (c) removed barriers to accessing clean water; and/or (d) produced innovative health solutions and technologies that increase access to quality care.

AUPHA has partnered with Baxter International since 2006 to award The William B. Graham Prize. The Prize was established to honor the late William B. Graham, long-time CEO of Baxter International. The Prize is the highest distinction that researchers in the health services field can achieve, and succeeds the Baxter International Foundation Prize for Health Services Research awarded from 1986 until 2005.

The Prize includes an award of $26,000 to the recipient, $26,000 to a non-profit institution that supports the winner’s work, and $26,000 to an institution in the locale where the Prize will be awarded. It is awarded at the Association of University Programs in Health Administration Annual Meeting.

Nomination Process

The Graham Prize is awarded to an individual working in any relevant discipline, anywhere in the world. Nominations are actively solicited to ensure that Prize recipients represent leaders in, and major contributions to, the field of applied health services research nationally and internationally. The Prize is intended to recognize either a single major contribution or lifelong achievement.

Nominations must provide complete documentation including a letter of nomination that addresses the nominee’s contributions to health services delivery improvement in one or more of the four primary areas noted in the second paragraph above (a through d). The letter should be organized by the following categories: Scholarly Reputation, Sustained Productivity in Research, and Impact on Healthcare Policy and Practice.

The nomination should include a current curriculum vitae for the nominee and additional letters of support if desired. The nomination and CV must be in English. Supporting materials may be in other languages. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Nominations must be received by February 1, 2024, to be considered.

Nominations should be sent to:

The William B. Graham Prize Selection Committee
1730 Rhode Island Ave, NW
Suite 810
Washington, DC 20036.
Attention: Jaime Stephens

Nominations may also be sent by email to Jaime Stephens at jstephens@aupha.org.

Please direct all inquiries to (202) 763-7561 or jstephens@aupha.org. More information about the Prize may be found here.

Prize Winners

William B Graham Prize Winners

David M. Cutler, PhD
Harvard University

Lisa A. Cooper, MD, MPH
Johns Hopkins University

David R. Williams, PhD, MPH
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Sherry Glied, PhD
New York University
Press Release

William C. Hsiao, PhD
Professor of Economics Harvard School of Public Health

Peter J. Pronovost, M.D., Ph.D.
University Hospitals
Press Release

Elizabeth H. Bradley, PhD
Vassar College

David Blumenthal, MD
The Commonwealth Fund

John K. Iglehart
Health Affairs

Anthony J. Culyer, CBE, BA, Hon DEcon, Hon FRCP, FRSA, FMedSci
University of York

Alan Maynard, OBE, BPhil, Hon DSc, Hon LLD, Hon MFPHM, MMEDSci
University of York

Stuart H. Altman, PhD
Brandeis University

Dorothy P. Rice, ScD
University of California, San Francisco

Mark V. Pauly, PhD
University of Pennsylvania

Edward H. Wagner, MD
Group Health Research Institute

Uwe E. Reinhardt, PhD
Princeton University

Carolyn M. Clancy, MD
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Sir Michael G. Marmot, MBBS, MPH, PhD
University College London

Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP
Institute for Healthcare Improvement

Linda H. Aiken, PhD, FAAN, FRCN, RN
University of Pennsylvania

Baxter Prize Winners

David L. Sackett, OC, MD, FRSC, FRCP
Trout Research Institute

Barbara Starfield, MD, MPH
Johns Hopkins University

Robert J. Blendon, ScD
Harvard University

John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA

Robert G. Evans, PhD
University of British Columbia

Karen Davis, PhD
The Commonwealth Fund

Ronald Andersen, PhD
University of California, Los Angeles

Odin Anderson, PhD
University of Wisconsin, Madison

Harold S. Luft, PhD
University of California, San Francisco

David Mechanic, PhD
Rutgers University

Kerr L. White, MD
University of Virginia

Stephen M. Shortell, PhD
University of California, Berkeley

Alain C. Enthoven, PhD
Stanford University​