Thompson Prize for Young Investigators

The Prize and its Purpose

The John D. Thompson Prize for Young Investigators was established to honor John D. Thompson, a professor of health administration education, who set teaching, commitment to learning, collegial relationships, and health services research standards which are without peer.

The Prize recognizes young faculty based on their contributions to the research literature in the field of health services.  The Prize is awarded to a faculty member from an AUPHA Full Member Program whose work may be in any of the several fields or disciplines contributing to knowledge in health services.

Nomination Process

Anyone from an AUPHA member program may nominate a candidate for the Prize. Nominations must include the nominee’s current curriculum vitae, a single letter of not more than five pages outlining the nominee’s contributions to research literature in the field of health services, and complete copies of up to five publications (that have appeared in print) of which the nominee is the sole or lead author or a primary contributor. These must have appeared in print before December 31, 2018. Additional supporting letters should not be submitted.

Individuals may be re-nominated from year to year as long as they continue to meet the criteria for the Prize.

Check back in January for the 2020 application.  

Criteria & Selection Process

Nominations are judged by a panel of recognized health services researchers and health administration faculty appointed by the Board of AUPHA. The awardee shall be a faculty member at a Full Member Program of AUPHA, have been awarded a PhD no more than six years prior to consideration (2013), and have not achieved tenure as of the date of selection. The Prize is intended to serve as a benchmark for pre-tenure work.

Emphasis is placed on:

Importance of Works—Overall significance of the investigator’s research and the impact it is likely to have on the field of health services.

Theoretical Grounding
—The writing and research must exhibit a strong conceptual base in the parent discipline.

—The number of publications published in refereed journals, book chapters and books.

Intellectual Leadership
—Professional recognition, serving as principal investigator on major grants and contracts, organizing research meetings
and/or generating substantial books or monographs in the field of health services.

Quality/Visibility of Journals
—Leading health services research journals receive greater weight.

Contribution to Education in Health Management & Policy
—Beyond the nominee’s research, in what ways has he/she contributed to the field of health management and policy education--through teaching, commitment to learning, collegial relationships and beyond?

Selection of the Prize winner will takes place each spring. The Prize is awarded at the AUPHA Annual Meeting.

Prize Winners

2019      Marian Jarlenski, PhD
              University of Pittsburgh

2018      Hefei Wen, PhD
              University of Kentucky

2017      David K. Jones, PhD
              Boston University

2016      Brad Wright, PhD
              University of Iowa

2015      Larry Herald, PhD
              University of Alabama at Birmingham

2014      Holly Jarman, PhD
             University of Michigan

2013      Diana Bowman, LLB, PhD
              University of Michigan

2012      George Wehby, PhD, MPH
University of Iowa

2011      Hector Rodriguez, PhD, MPH
            University of California, Los Angeles

2010      Daniel Eisenberg, PhD
             University of Michigan &

Jonathan Ketcham, PhD
             Arizona State University

2008      Michael Davern, PhD
             University of Minnesota &

              Rachel Werner, MD, PhD
             University of Pennsylvania

2007      Kosali Ilayperuma Simon, PhD
              Cornell University

2006      Kevin Volpp, MD, PhD
             University of Pennsylvania &

Rebecca Wells, PhD
            University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

2005      John Cawley, PhD
              Cornell University

2004      David C. Grabowski, PhD
              University of Alabama at Birmingham

2003      Elizabeth Bradley, PhD
              Yale University

2002      Shoou-Yih Daniel Lee, PhD
             University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill &

              Dennis Scanlon, PhD

              Pennsylvania State University

2001      William Dow, PhD
              University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

2000      Brian Weiner, PhD
             University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

1999      Richard A. Hirth, PhD
             University of Michigan

1998      Michael Chernew, PhD
             University of Michigan &

Gary J. Young, JD, PhD
             Boston University

1996      Jacqueline S. Zinn, PhD
             Temple University

1995      Peter C. Coyte, PhD
             University of Toronto

1993      David Dranove, PhD
              Northwestern University

1992      Thomas H. Rice, PhD
              University of California–Los Angeles

1991      Michael A. Morrisey, PhD
              University of Alabama at Birmingham

Selection Committee

Sharon Schweikhart, PhD, MBA
Ohio State University

Jean Abraham, PhD
University of Minnesota

Mona Al-Amin, PhD
Suffolk University

Andrew Garman, PsyD, MS
Rush University

Larry Hearld, PhD
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Timothy Hoff, PhD
Northeastern University

Holly Jarman, PhD
University of Michigan

David Jones, PhD
Boston University School of Public Health

Abby Kazley, PhD
Medical University of South Carolina

P.J. Maddox, PhD
George Mason University

Reid Oetjen, PhD
University of Central Florida

Sandra Potthoff, PhD
University of South Florida