Filerman Prize for Educational Leadership

The Prize and its Purpose

The Gary L. Filerman Prize for Educational Leadership was established to honor Gary L. Filerman, PhD, the first President of AUPHA, for his many years of service to the Association and the field of healthcare management education.

The Prize recognizes individuals from AUPHA member programs who have made outstanding contributions to the field of health administration education, who have exhibited leadership in the field, and who have enriched their institutions, their students, and health administration education through their work.

A wide variety of achievements and contributions to the field may be recognized by the award
  • Excellence in teaching and pedagogy
  • Contribution to the field through scholarship and publications
  • Excellence in academic leadership
  • Influence on healthcare management education through curriculum development and design
  • Implementation of education, research, and service partnerships with the field of practice
  • Exceptional service to AUPHA and the field of health administration education
  • Other efforts to enhance the quality of health administration education

Nomination Process

Nominations may be made by individuals from AUPHA member programs, as well as affiliate or personal members of the Association. The nominee must be a faculty member at an AUPHA Full Member program. Nominations must be submitted electronically through the AUPHA website. The Nomination Form is located at > Resources > Faculty. The online form requests the nominee’s curriculum vitae along with two letters of nomination describing:
  • why the individual is being nominated for the Filerman Prize
  • nominee’s outstanding contributions to the field of health administration education
  • how the nominee has exhibited leadership
  • how the nominee has enriched their institution
  • how the nominee has enriched the lives of their students
  • how the nominee has enriched health administration education
Individuals may be renominated from year to year as long as they continue to meet the criteria for the Prize.

Selection Process

The Filerman Selection Committee, appointed by the Chair of the AUPHA Board of Directors, will evaluate the nominations. If the committee wishes to review additional information in regards to a nominee, the nominator(s) will be contacted to provide additional materials, including two letters of nomination.

The deadline for receipt of this information is April 1, 2015. The Prize is awarded at the AUPHA Annual Meeting each year.

For further information contact AUPHA at 2000 N. 14th Street, Suite 780, Arlington, VA; Phone: (703) 894-0940 x115; Fax: (703) 894-0941; email:

Prize Winners

2014 Janet Reagan, PhD
California State University, Northridge
2013 Stephen Mick, PhD
Virginia Commonwealth
2012 John Wheeler, PhD
University of Michigan
2011 Barry Greene, PhD
University of Iowa
2010 Eugene Schneller, PhD
Arizona State University
2009 Douglas Conrad, PhD
University of Washington–
2008 James W. Begun, PhD
University of Minnesota
2007 G. Ross Baker, PhD
University of Toronto
2006 S. Robert Hernandez, DrPH
University of Alabama at
2005 Thomas G. Rundall, PhD
University of California–
2004 Mary E. Stefl, PhD
Trinity University
2003 Charles J. Austin, PhD
2002 John R. Griffith, MBA,

University of Michigan
2001 Vernon Weckwerth, PhD
University of Minnesota
2000 Stephen F. Loebs, PhD
Ohio State University
1999 Anthony R. Kovner, PhD
New York University
1998 Gordon D. Brown, PhD
University of Missouri–
1997 Peggy Leatt, PhD
University of North Carolina at
Chapel Hill
1996 James D. Suver, DBA
University of Colorado–Denver

2014-2015 Selection Committee

G. Ross Baker, PhD
University of Toronto

Diane Hilberman, DrPH
University of California - Los Angeles

Lawrence Johnson, PhD, FACHE
Army-Baylor University

Ana Maria Lomperis, PhD
Saint Louis University

John Lowe, PhD
Simmons University

Michael Meachum, JD, MPH
Medical University of South Carolina

Victoria Parker, DBA, EdM
Boston University School of Public Health

Martha Riddell, DrPH, MPH
University of Kentucky

Jon Thompson, PhD
James Madison University

Carla Wiggins, PhD
Weber State University

Gerald Glandon, PhD