Corris Boyd Scholars Program

HCA is proud to sponsor the HCA Corris Boyd Scholars Program. This program was established in honor of a healthcare leader who dedicated his life to diversity and excellence in leadership – especially among people of color.


Each recipient will receive a $40,000 scholarship towards tuition and other expenses at the AUPHA full-member graduate school program of his or her choice. The award will be paid in four installments (August 2016, December 2016, August 2017 and December 2017).  Students enrolled in accelerated programs will not receive the 2nd year installments until the dates noted above.

The online application opens in March 2016; all applications are due on April 17, 2016. Award recipients will be announced in June 2016.  

About Corris Boyd

Corris Boyd (1961 – 2005) 
Mr. Corris Boyd was a senior healthcare executive with HealthTrust Purchasing Group and HCA.  He was dedicated to increasing diversity and a proponent of excellence in leadership.  He also championed the success of minority and women-owned businesses through strategic partnerships. Mr. Boyd was active in his community, respected by his peers, inspired all who knew him, and a mentor who was the “ultimate leader.” The Scholars Program was established in 2006 in his honor

Eligibility Requirements

At the time of award, applicants must meet the following eligibility requirements (no exceptions):
  • Have applied and been accepted into an AUPHA Full Member master's degree program for start in Fall of 2016, but not before August 1st.  Search the AUPHA Online Directory for eligible member programs. Under "Program Accreditation/Certification", select the box for "CAHME Accredited Graduate Programs". Scroll down the screen and select "Find a Program". Then scroll down the screen to see the list of eligible programs.
  • Be a full-time student
  • Be a student of color (African American, American Indian/Alaska Native, Asian American, Hawaiian/Pacific Islander, Latino/Hispanic, Multiracial)
  • Have a minimum 3.0 GPA (out of 4.0) in undergraduate coursework 
  • Have US citizenship or permanent resident status

Application Requirements 

To complete the application, you will need:
  1. Program Information: A list of the AUPHA Full-Member, CAHME accredited programs you have applied to and the status of your application. 

  2. Cumulative GPA: Your current cumulative GPA or that from your most recently completed academic degree (submit via online application).

  3. Test Scores: Your unofficial GRE or GMAT score report as an Adobe PDF, unless not required by the schools to which you have applied (submit via online application). 

  4. Resume: Your current resume as an Adobe PDF (submit via the electronic application).

  5. Personal Statement: A statement, not longer than 1,200 words, explaining why you are choosing to pursue a career in healthcare management and addressing why you should be selected based on the selection criteria. This is the most important piece of your application and should address the following: 
    a. Why have you chosen healthcare management as the career you want to pursue?
    b. How have you demonstrated leadership in the past?
    c. How do you see yourself using the degree?
    d. Why have you chosen the school you plan to attend? 

  6. Letters of Recommendation: Submit three (3) letters signed and on letterheadOne letter must be from a faculty member who has observed you in the classroom (no exceptions), one from an employer/supervisor, and the third from the individual of your choice that can best address your qualifications for the scholarship. Letters must be dated not earlier than February 15th and specifically address the scholarship and selection criteria. Letters will be accepted directly from the recommender via email (, mail (AUPHA, 2000 14th St N, Suite 780, Arlington, VA 22201), and fax (703.894.0941), or uploaded by the applicant within the electronic application.

  7. Financial Support: Information on any additional financial support that you anticipate receiving towards your graduate degree, including other scholarships, grants, etc. (submit via the online application).

  8. Transcripts: Official transcripts from all higher education institutions attended are required. Transcripts are accepted from the registrar electronically to or via mail to AUPHA, 2000 14th St N, Suite 780, Arlington, VA 22201. Scanned copies are accepted within the online application as long as they are an official version. Do not submit unofficial copies to AUPHA. 

Once you begin your online application, you may save and return to it later selecting "Save and continue later" at the top of the application screen. The application will automatically send you an email containing instructions to access your information at a later date. Save this email message.




For inquiries related to the Corris Boyd Scholarship, please contact Chris Sanyer via email, phone (703) 894-0940 x122, fax (703) 894-0941 or mail to: 

Corris Boyd Scholarship
2000 14th Street N, Suite 780
Arlington, VA 22201

Selection Criteria

Applicants will be selected based on the following criteria:
  • Leadership qualities
  • Academic achievements
  • Community involvement
  • Commitment to healthcare and healthcare management as a career path
  • Other sources and amount of financial support (may be considered when all other factors are equal)

Selection Process

If any part of the application is incomplete or a supporting document is missing at the deadline date, the applicant/application will be disqualified.  The application form and all supporting documents must arrive to AUPHA on or prior to the deadline. No exceptions will be made.

Final applications will be reviewed by a committee of academics and practitioners who will recommend five finalists to HCA for consideration based on the selection criteria. Applicants not chosen as a finalist will be notified by AUPHA in early June. Finalist may be asked to sit for a phone interview with HCA in early-June. HCA will identify two winners of the HCA Corris Boyd Scholars program no later than mid-June. 

Past Recipients

Gloria Coicou - Cornell University
Jacqueline Gallardo - University of Southern California

Shekinah Bell - University of Michigan 
Jennifer N. Dingle - University of Michigan 

Carolina de la Puente - George Washington University 
Crystal Sanford - University of Southern California

Carolina Garcia - Northwestern University
Mohamed Jalloh - UNC at Chapel Hill

Prince Baawuah - University of Michigan
Jared Dunlap - Columbia University
Jonathan Liu - Columbia University
William English - University of Alabama
Lawrence Smith - Cornell University 
Nupur Agrawal - Columbia University
Essein Ukanna – University of Michigan
Shruti D. Kothari - University of California - Berkeley
Andrea N. Gwyn – Virginia Commonwealth University
Kenneth M. West II – Georgetown University

Marcus Smith – Cornell University
Jennifer R. Bonds – UNC at Chapel Hill